Board of Directors


Mr. Koome Kiragu – Chairperson of the Board

Mr. Koome has served Habitat for Humanity Kenya as the Chairperson since 2017. He has also been a member of the IBOD (International Board of Directors) for Habitat for Humanity International, representing the Africa region, up until March 2020 when his term ended. Mr. Koome’s career spans several sectors including the agriculture sector, banking and currently in the property and estate management including; the Agricultural Finance Corporation (AFC) a government-owned financial institution where he managed the institution’s Branches in the Central region of Kenya, at the Standard Chartered Group Estates where he managed large scale intensive agricultural estates and at Leoma Properties where he is the Director. As the Chairperson of Habitat Kenya’s Board, he works closely with the staff particularly with the National Director to create strategic and beneficial networks of officials and key personalities in government and the private sector to further Habitat’s reach and mission.


Mr. Frank Ireri – Board Member and Finance Committee Chair

Mr. Ireri chairs the Habitat for Humanity Kenya’s Finance Committee of the Board where he provides financial analysis, advice, and oversight of the organization’s budgets. He is an accomplished and resilient senior Executive and MD with a progressive international career spanning over 25 years delivering and instilling operational strategies and transformation initiatives to maximize business performance, streamline processes and increase customer excellence for leading global banking organizations including Citibank Kenya, Commercial Bank of Africa, Barclays Bank Africa and most recently the Housing Finance Company Kenya. As the former MD of Housing Finance Company Kenya, Mr. Ireri is well versed with the dynamics of the housing sector. His strategic input to Habitat Kenya has helped keep the organized well positioned in the country.


Mr. Jean Doyen – Board Member

Mr. Doyen has served the Habitat for Humanity Kenya Board as a member since 2006. He is an engineer by profession. He has in-depth expertise on matters housing and urban development, Water and Sanitation gained from over 25 years at the World Bank. Mr. Doyen is an expert in strategic planning and project management and also provides consultancies to institutions showing the linkages between infrastructure and overall development and poverty reduction. His rich knowledge has helped to guide Board conversations on Habitat Kenya’s programmatic directions and assessing impact.



Mr. Shamaz Savani – Board Member

Mr. Savani has served the Habitat for Humanity Kenya Board since 2014. Currently, Mr. Savani is the Group Managing Director ABC Group which comprises of ABC Bank, ABC Capital Limited, ABC Insurance Brokers Limited and ABC Capital Bank Limited (Uganda). He is a banker by profession with about 25 years of experience in the financial services sector. He holds a B.Com in Finance and a B.A in Economics, both from McMaster University, Canada and an MBA from the University of Surrey in UK. He is responsible for strategy formulation, policy-making including expansion, innovation and growth for ABC Group leading to the bank receiving several awards and recognition in different categories under his leadership.


Mr. Sam Owen – Board Member

Mr. Owen is amongst the longest serving Board Members at Habitat for Humanity Kenya and has contributed in navigating the organization’s growth and stability to date. Mr. Owen is a member of the Kenyan clergy and the founder of the following forums in Kenya; Kenya’s National Prayer Breakfast, The Men’s Gathering, and Africa Youth Forum of Leadership. He also coordinates small group gatherings of private, professional, and political influencers in Kenya.


Dr. Nelson C. Kuria, OGW, MBS, FmIoD – Board Member

Dr. Kuria has served the Habitat for Humanity Kenya Board since 2018.  Dr. Kuria has had a long-standing career in the finance and insurance sectors in Kenya stretching to over 36 years. At his helm, Dr. Kuria was the Group MD and CEO of CIC insurance Group until he retired in February 2015. Currently, he is chairman of Smep Microfinance Bank, Enwealth Financial Services, and Governing Council of Africa International University (AIU). In the past, he has served as chairman of the Association of Kenya Insurance, Deputy Chairman of Federation of Kenya Employers, Co-operative University and board member of many organizations both locally and internationally. Dr. Kuria has been honored with two awards by the president of Kenya for his contribution in co- operative and insurance development; Order of the Grand Warrior (OGW) in 2005 and Moran of the Burning Spear (MBS) in 2011. In the insurance industry he was honored with the Life Time Achievement Award in 2012 for his role in the development of insurance in Kenya. In 2017, he was awarded an Honorary Doctorate in Leadership by the Swiss Management Academy and in 2019, he was given the award of Fellow member of the Institute of Directors (FmIoD) for his contribution in the development of corporate governance in Kenya.


Ms. Elizabeth Githinji – Board Member

Ms. Githinji is the newest member of the Habitat for Humanity Kenya having joined in March 2020. She is a program management specialist with experience in education and culture, public health, environmental conservation, post conflict reconstruction and social protection, gained while working at Catholic Relief Services, Development Alternatives Inc. (DAI) and Care International in Kenya among other non-profit organizations. She is experienced in working with Government (including engagement with policy makers and legislators), non-governmental and private sector actors to design, implement and advocate for inclusion of marginalized groups in the decision-making process, advocating for domestic resource financing for programs targeted at these groups while promoting access to and control of resources allocated to the same.